Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

FG finally reopens four remaining land borders

The federal government on Friday ordered the reopening of four land borders which were shut about three years ago.

Contained in a statement signed by the Deputy Comptroller General, Enforcement and Inspection, E.I Edorhe, the borders reopened include Jibiya, Idiroko, Kamba and Ikom.

It would be recalled that the fedral government had in 2020, ordered the reopening of the first four land borders of eight, including Seme, Illela, Maigatari and Mfun.

At the time of shutting the borders, the government had cited increased smuggling activities, which was hurting the economy, as reason for the closure.

Edorhe in the circular titled “Re-opening of four additional Nigerian border Posts,” instructed various Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams (JBPTs) to ensure adequate security.

The circular reads in part: “Sequel to the presidential directive dated 16 December 2020 granting approval for the phased reopening of land borders namely, Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders across the country, I am directed to inform you that four additional borders stated below have been approved for re-opening.

“The borders are Idiroko border post, Ogun State (South-West Zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina State (North-West Zone; Kamba border post, Kebbi State (North-West Zone) and ikom border post, Cross River State (South-South Zone).

“Consequently, all Customs formations and JBPTs are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines.”

It could be recalled that the federal government on October 15, 2019, announced the shutting of all land borders to import.

“All goods, for now, are banned from being exported or imported through our land borders and that is to ensure we have total control over what comes in.”


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.