Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

League holds 25th Anniversary celebration Dec. 7

*To honour 16 corporate organisations, individuals

* Oyetola, Dangote to grace occasion as Chief Host, Chairman

The League of Maritime Editors (LOME) has concluded arrangements to hold its 25th anniversary celebration on December 7.

The first phase of the anniversary which will be marked with a retreat in Lagos is loaded with a number of activities.

The Honourable Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, H.E. Adegboyega Oyetola, is the Chief Host of the 2-day event, while the Chairman of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, is to chair the event.

Part of the programme lined up for the event includes presentation of papers by distinguished industry Chief Executive Officers/chieftains and award to deserving corporate organisations and individuals.

The themes of the celebration are “Harnessing Nigeria’s Potential in Marine and Blue Economy” and “The New Customs Act 2023 and Its Implication on Trade”, according to a statement issued by the President of the League, Chief Timothy Okorocha and the Public Relations Officer, Mr Francis Ugwoke.

The NCS and other agencies under the Marine and Blue Ministry  shall be presenting papers in respect of  their contributions to the success of the blue economy under the new administration of President Ahmed Bola Tinubu.

No fewer than 16 corporate organisations and individuals drawn from the maritime sector, among them, the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) and Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC) have been slated for the conferment of awards based on their remarkable performance in their statutory obligations in the sector.

The Comptroller-General of Customs, Bashir Adewale Adeniyi, Assistant Comptroller-General of Customs (ACG Headquarters), Alhaji A.O Olajogun shall also be conferred with individual awards.

The League identified two prominent women in the industry   to be honoured during the event.

They are the   Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy, Dr. Mrs Magdalene Ajani   and the recently retired General Manager, Corporate & Strategic Communications, NPA, Mrs Josephine Moltok.

The League, according to the statement, has followed their track records since they joined the industry, which is the reason for the honour being extended to them.

The event which is billed to hold at the Lagos Travel Inn, 39/41 Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos, by 10 am, is part of the contributions of League to the success of the blue economy agenda of the federal government.

League is a foremost maritime journalists association based in Lagos, whose members are part of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos Council.

The League is the maritime industry watchdog and agenda setter.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.