Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Maritime Nigeria unveils faces of Distinguished Maritime Personalities

…As Team NIMASA, Koko, Ogbeifun, Afolabi, Jime, Effedua, Farah, Edike, Malata, Chiazor, others are listed for honours

By Kelvin Kagbare

Notwithstanding the overall everyday socio- economic issues and challenges, it is easy to lose sight of the progress made by individuals, groups and organizations.

The successes recorded through efforts of men and women who remain dedicated and committed to the good of industry and country must be acknowledged to encourage them to do more and strive for greater heights.

Without doubt, we are convinced at Maritime Nigeria that for good and progress, there must always be remarkable things that people do to develop the industry.

Daily, we look out for, see and capture the positive things by recognizing those working quietly but valiantly, defying the odds and flying the flag in their respective domains.

Specifically, in the maritime sector, there are stakeholders who have been committed in what they do and become outstanding in the course of the outgoing year.

In our review of the activities of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), certain personalities are outstanding for their leadership roles and the path they have chosen to tread and pave for others following in their footsteps.

From a long list of hard working, focused and committed maritime and transport personalities, the following individuals have been shortlisted for recognition/honour in this maiden edition of the Distinguished Maritime Personalities, DMPs series:



Team NIMASA, Captained by Dr. Bashir Jamoh as Director General and backed by his Executive Directors have proven to be a compact, focused team, committed to the development of Nigeria’s maritime industry. Backed solidly by the Executive Directors, Maritime Labour and Cabotage Services, Engr. Barr. Victor Ochei, Executive Director Operations, Mr. Shehu Ahmed, and Hon. Chudi Offodile, Executive Director, Finance and Administration, this management quartet at NIMASA have etched their place in maritime history and their place as DMPs secured.


Mohammed Bello Koko

Mohammed Bello Koko is the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, NPA. His commitment to repositioning Nigerian Ports for excellent service delivery is acknowledged and benchmarked. From the Eastern ports to the ports in Lagos, Mohammed Bello-Koko is working hard to rebuild dilapidated infrastructure, increase tonnage, reduce vessel turnaround time and make the ports more attractive. Undoubtedly, there’s no contesting his place among DMPs.


Engr. Greg Ogbeifun

Engr. Greg Ogbeifun is a shipping magnate and maritime technocrat. From ship building to repairs, training, employment opportunities, poverty alleviation, scholarships to students and humanitarian services, Engr. Ogbeifun distinguished himself as the CEO of Starz Investments and Marine Services even as he pioneers the development of the Benin City River Port, BRP. As a DMP, Greg Ogbeifun is globally acknowledged.


Hon. Jime Emmanuel

Hon. Emmanuel Jime, is the Executive Secretary/CEO of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council, NSC. Aside canvassing for efficiency in the ports, it is our believe that Jime’s calls for Standardization of Operational Processes in Nigerian ports if fully complied with could triple earnings by government just as private operators are likely to record higher gains as well.  His push for automation of port processes, development of Inland Ports, Vehicle Transit Areas (VTAs), Border Information Centres (BICs), the NPPM, PSTT, SOP, collaborations and synergy with other agencies of government at Federal and State levels stands Jime out as a DPM.


Dr. Taiwo Afolabi

Other maritime and Transport Titans who are beacons of hope within and outside the industry include Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Board Chairman, Sifax Group. As an investor, Afolabi has touched lives in very numerous ways. He is a Maritime giant, a respected gentleman, philanthropist and an eminent DMP.


Charles Edike

Also on the list is ACG Charles Edike (rtd), a man with unbroken success records with Nigeria Customs Service, where he served meritoriously before he retired as Assistant Comptroller General of Customs ( ACG). In service to fatherland even as he continues to talk, preach, teach and mentor, Edike earns his place among other DMPs.


Cdre. Duja Effedua, Rector MAN

Commodore Duja Effedua Emmanuel is the Rector, Maritime Academy of Nigeria, MAN. His works at MAN for country and industry are pointers to the fact that where there is a will there will always be a way. While he insists that there is more work to be done, stakeholders have repeatedly expressed joy at the magnitude of change effected by the Effedua -led management at the Academy. The Rector as a DMP is applauded.


Comptroller Yusuf Malanta

Comptroller Yusuf Malanta, is the Customs Area Controller ( CAC), Apapa Area Command of the Nigeria Customs Service. As an Economic Gatekeeper, Malanta has distinguished himself as revenue titan and anti-smuggling Czar. He has brought sanity and ensured compliance to a higher level by importers at the Command. Apart from raising the revenue bar, seizures made by his officers are among factors which position this CAC as a DMP.


Dr. Bayero Salih-Farah, DG, NITT

Dr. Bayero Salih-Farah, Director General, National Institute of Transport Technology (NITT) Zaria, fits the description of ‘square peg in square hole .His administrative versatility and transport technology innovations deployed to enhance national mobility are very far-reaching and impactful. On and off the job, Dr. Bayero Salih-Farah is a man of the people who has devoted his time and energy to national building, earning a place among the DMPs.


Capt. Warredi Enisuoh

Capt. Warredi Enisuoh, is a Pilot, ship Captain and Astrologer. His exploits within and outside the shores of Nigeria are many even as he continues to provide expert information and professional advice to local and international organizations. He is a teacher, trainer, consultant and service provider who merits a place among listed DMPs.


Barr. Jean Anishere (SAN) and Dr. Emeka Akabogu

The duo of Barr. Jean Anishere (SAN) and Dr. Emeka Akabogu are maritime legal luminaries who have served and continue to serve the industry by shedding legal lights on opaque, uncertain legal issues. From the Presidency to the National Assembly down to the Agencies and Institutions, their views and inputs have saved many projects from which jobs and wealth have been created. Not relenting, they continue to talk, teach and mentor-their place as DMPs reserved!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.