Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Lagos Archery inaugurates 25 new clubs, honours eminent personalities as patrons

L-R: Board Chairman, Lagos State Archery Association, ACP Bode Ojajuni,
and Prof. Tunde Makanju, Guest Speaker of the event on Saturday.

The Board of
the Lagos State Archery Association on Saturday inaugurated 16 new, four
existing clubs and five schools clubs as well as the investiture of new

Board Chairman, Lagos State Archery Association, ACP Bode Ojajuni(Right)
 and his Vice, Mr. Mike Egbayelo
File Photo: Onepageafrica 

The event,
under the chairmanship of Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Bode Ojajuni,
held at the Sports Bar of the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Surulere, Lagos.

The Body
also unveiled a number of programmes aimed at popularising the sport in the
state, and to also further take the game to the grassroots including the
education sector.

Speaking at
the event,
 which has as its theme
“Archery: Connecting the Triangle of Sports Development, Youth Development and
Sports Tourism” ACP Ojajuni said that the inauguration of the Board on 5th
December, 2018 set the pace for the development
and promotion of the Olympic sport in Lagos.
inaugurated clubs are Apapa Executive 1 & 2, Apapa Progressives Archery
Club, Ikorodu 1 & 2, CNI. Magazine Archery Club, Badagry Archery Club, Ojo
Archery Club, FESTAC Archery Club, FESTAC Executive  Archery Club, UNILAG Archery Club, Surulere
Archery Club, Cardoso Archery Club, MBA Archery Club, Orege Archery Club and
Olodi Apapa Archery Club.
The existing
clubs that were inaugurated included Lekki Archery Club, Zone 2 Police Archery
Club, Fort Madariola Archery Club and Safari Hunters Archery Club.
The five
schools archery clubs inaugurated included West Mills College Archery Club,
Padema Schools Archery Club, Pinefield Schools Archery Club, Yeolan Schools
Archery Clubs and Enfield College Archery Club.
personalities honoured as Patrons of the association included Chairman of All
Progressive Congress (APC) in Lagos, Alhaji Tunde Balogun, House of
Representative member, Hon. Egberongbe Mufutau, representing Apapa Federal Constituency,
Hon. Ademorin Kuye, representing Somolu Federal Constituency, business mogul,
Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Chairman Sifax Group of Companies, broadcaster Mrs. Funke
Oga, Hon. Hazeez Babajide Akintoye, Dr. Amy Jadesimi, Mr. Wole Madariola, Chief
Igho Dafinone and Sir Henry Muogho
“These are
distinguished and carefully selected patrons, awardees who are seasoned
professionals and accomplished business men and women, politicians and captains
of industry who have been selected on merit to come and contribute their quota
in developing this sport in our dear state,” ACP Ojajuni said.
President of
Nigeria Archery Federation, the national body of the sport in the country,
Mohammed Baba Abdullahi, who spoke through the media officer of the federation,
Mr. Patrick Ibeh, lauded the Lagos State Archery Association for being the
pacesetter of the development and popularisation of the sport in the country.

His words: “History
of archery sport in Nigeria will not be completed without the mention of Lagos
where it all began from the cradle, little wonder as Lagos State has achieved
this milestone of fast development. 
occasion gladdens our heart as a family and it is a challenge for other states
that are already practising the sport as a discipline.
“Archery has
state chapters in FCT Abuja, Niger, Plateau, Benue, Kogi, Ogun, Oyo, Imo,
Zamfara, Kwara and Nasarawa States, apart from institutional establishment
associations and clubs such as the Armed Forces (Army, Navy, Air Force, Police
and Civil Defence) Fire Brigade, Immigration, Prisons and Road Safety,” the
president said.
He commended
the Lagos State Sports Commission under its chairman, Dr. Kweku Tandoh, who
made it possible to give archery sport the well-deserved status and attention.
The Guest Lecturer, Prof. Tunde
Makanju,  delivered the inaugural lecture, even as the association had a
presentation of the Lagos State Archery Association’s Strategic Plan 2019-2023.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.