Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Buhari, Osinbajo sworn in for second term

President Muhammadu Buhari and
Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo have been sworn in for a second term in
office on Wednesday in Abuja.

Oath of Office was administered around 10.15 am by the acting Chief Justice of
Nigeria, Justice Tanko Mohammed.

President Buhari was on February 27,
declared the winner of February 23 presidential elections by the Independent
National Electoral Commission.
Returning Officer for the 2019 presidential elections, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu,
made the declaration.
the candidate of the All Progressives Congress polled 15,191,847 votes to
defeat the country’s former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of Peoples Democratic
Party, who had 11,262,978 votes.
Buhari was first inaugurated as
President of Nigeria on May 29, 2015, making it the first time in Nigeria’s
history that an opposition candidate was taking over from an incumbent
2019 presidential inauguration, which held at the Eagle Square, was heralded by
a colourful military parade which received the service chiefs, CJN, Vice
President and President as they arrived.
and Osinabjo were accompanied to the event by their wives; Aisha Buhari and
Dolapo Osinbajo respectively.
after the swearing-in, there was the lowering and hoisting of National and
Defence flags and 21 gun salutes.
Afterwards, the president inspected
the Guard of Honour and acknowledged cheers from the guests.
event attracted former and serving state governors.
were service chiefs, members of the diplomatic corps, members of the Federal
Executive Council, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives,
Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Head of Civil Service of the
Federation and captains of industry.
Also present were Adams
Oshiomhole, the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress and other
party chieftains. (Agency Report)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.