Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

NPA restates commitment to women empowerment

Rep of the Managing Director, NPA, the General Manager, Corporate and Strategic Communications, Engr. Adams Jatto, (middle) the Asst. Gen. Manager, New Business Development, NPA, Nana Yakubu (2nd from left), the Founder, MMS WoFHoF Initiative, Kingsley Anaroke (2nd from right) and the Asst. Gen. Manager, Environment, NPA, (right) and the Senior Manager, C & SC, Victoria Tarfa (left)at the event.

Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) has expressed its continual support to the
welfare of women, particularly of women in the maritime sector.

Managing Director of the NPA, Hadiza Bala Usman, stated this on Tuesday while
addressing stakeholders at the 2019 MMS Hall of Famers’ Day and a Night of
Empowerment in Lagos.

Managing Director, who was represented by the General Manager Corporate and
Strategic Communications, Engr. Jatto A. Adams, called on women in all walks of
life to ensure commitment and hardwork in their chosen careers to earn
also urged women to seize the opportunity offered through women empowerment
programmes to better their lot, thereby contributing most meaningfully to the
growth of the nation’s economy.
Managing Director commended the organiser for the theme “Empowering Women in
the Maritime Community” which she said was in line with the International
Maritime Organisation (IMO) 2019 World Maritime Day.
the founder of MMS WOFHOF initiative, Kingsley Anaroke disclosed that the advocacy
for gender parity requires concerted efforts by all stakeholders if the mission
must be achieved.
also called on the Federal Government to introduce a gender character policy
like the existing Federal Character principle to reflect the sensitivity of the
United Nations SGDs on equality with 40 per cent employment opportunity
reservation for women in both public and private sectors.
event featured presentation of certificates of recognition to nine women
including Mrs. Mary Hamman, Ifeoma Ezedinma, Khadijat Sheidu-Shabi, Obiageli
Obi, Folake Soji-George.

recognised are Nneko Obianyo, Nana Yakubu, Macfoy Rollen and Felicia Mogo for
their contributions to the growth and development of the maritime industry.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.