Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Adeyanju emerges as new Deputy President of NLC

Comrade Adewale Adeyanju has emerged as the new Deputy President of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) at the on-going 13th National Delegate Conference holding at the International Conference Center in Abuja.

Adeyanju who is the President General of the Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) would be serving for the next four years alongside the newly- elected NLC National President, Comrade Joe Ajaero alongside other executives.

Outgoing President of NLC, Comrade Ayuba Waba, announced on Wednesday that the formal inauguration of the newly announced officers would be holding later tonight.

Adeyanju alongside others were returned unopposed after the business section of the NLC on Tuesday night.

Other executives returned as Deputy President are; Comrade Audu Titus Amba, who is representing the Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT), and Comrade Kabiru Ado Sani, representing the Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria (MHWUN).

Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji is the sole nominee for position of the National Treasurer. He represents the Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE).

The position of the Vice President include; Comrade Benjamin Anthony representing Amalgamated Union of Public Corporation, Civil Service Technical and Recreational Services Employees(AUPCTRE); Comrade Stephen Igho Okoro – National Union of Civil Engineering Construction, Furniture and Wood Workers (NUCECFWW); Comrade Michael Akuma Nnachi – National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM); and Comrade Oluwole Sunday – Nigeria Civil Service Union (NCSU).

Comrade Marwan Mustapha Adamu of Judicial Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN) is the sole nominee for position of Financial Secretary, and Comrade Williams Akporeha representing Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), is also sole nominee for position of National Trustee.

The Internal Auditors are Comrade Babatunde Goke Olatunji – National Union of Chemical, Footwear, Rubber, Leather and Non-metallic Products Employees (NUCFRLANMPE); Comrade Mohammed Haruna Ibrahim – Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU); and Comrade Garba Ibrahim of National Union of Food, Beverage and Tobacco Employees (NUFBTE).

For Ex-officio, the occupants are; Roselyn Uba-Anarah – Nigeria Union of Public Service Reportorial, Secretarial Data Processors and Allied Workers (NUPSRAW), and Professor Member Euginia George-Genyi of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

Also in attendance at the conference was former NLC President, Comrade Adams Oshiomole, who expressed confidence in the new executives to lead the Union. He said this was the first time in the history of the Union that its leadership was being returned unopposed.

The newly- elected NLC President, Comrade  Joe Ajaero, who was deputy president of the Congress emerged via a consensus as successor to former leader, Ayuba Wabba, who ended his eight-year tenure on Tuesday. He was first elected in 2015 and then re-elected in 2019.

Comrade Ajaero had served as General Secretary of the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.