Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Sambo to Declare Open League’s 2022 Retreat December 8

The Honourable Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo, will declare open this year’s Retreat being organised by the League of Maritime Editors (LOME) on December 8.

The Retreat which comes up at Airport Hotel in Lagos includes lecture and award ceremonies.

Part of the programme lined up for the retreat is a lecture involving maritime   stakeholders who will be discussing industry issues.

The theme of this year’s retreat is titled ‘Lekki Deep Seaport:  Identifying Gains, Challenges and Potential Threat to Lagos Ports’, and will be handled by the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Mohammed Bello Koko.

The lecture shall dwell on the expected gains and challenges of having a new deep seaport.

Believing that the Lekki Deep Seaport will lead to severe competition, the paper is also expected to dwell on the likely threat that the new deep seaport will pose to the existing Lagos ports considering the   infrastructural decay   in the system and Apapa   port environment that has become a nightmare to shippers.

Among stakeholders expected to deliver papers on the occasion include the   Chairperson of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess Vicky Haastrup.

Sambo has been invited as the Chief Guest of Honour while the Executive Secretary, Nigerian Shippers’ Council, Honourable Emmanuel Jime, will be the Chairman of the occasion.

Part of the retreat is presentation of awards to the   Honourable Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo few  corporate individuals who have distinguished themselves in their professional field of calling.

Among those to be conferred with awards are the Comptroller General of  Nigeria Customs Service,  Col Hammed Ali (retd), Director General of the Nigeria Maritime Administration  and Safety Agency, Dr. Bashir Jamoh, Managing Director,  Nigerian Ports Authority,  Mr Mohammed Bello Koko. Chairman, Skellas Group, Prince Olayiwola Shittu and Chairman, Sifax Group, Chief  Dr. Taiwo  Afolabi.

The award recipients were selected considering their different contributions to the maritime industry.

The League of Maritime Editors is a foremost maritime Journalists Association based in Lagos spanning over two decades of existence. All our members are esteemed members of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ Lagos Council.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.