Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

League of Maritime Editors and Publishers elects new Executive

The League of Maritime Editors and Publishers has elected a new executive to pilot the affairs of the association for the next two years.

The election which was held during the association’s Annual General Meeting   at the Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON), Topo Badagry, produced Chief Timothy Okorocha as President.

A statement by the Association’s Spokesman, Francis Ugwoke,  said Okorocha succeeds the former President, Mr Kingsley Anaroke, whose executive came into office in 2018.

Other officers elected during the AGM were Mr Eddie Iroha as Vice President, Mr Felix Kumuyi – Secretary General, Mazi Tony Ohakwe – Treasurer, Mr. Friday Odoemena – Financial Secretary, Mr. Shola Mekusi – Welfare Officer and Mr. Francis Ugwoke as Public Relations Officer.

The position of the President was keenly contested between the former Vice President, Mr Shola Fadeyi and  Okorocha who won.

Similarly, this was the case in the position of the VP which was contested by Chief Okey Iroegbu and Iroha with the latter becoming the winner.

The Publisher of Eyewitness Online, Mr Funso Olojo, was the Returning Officer for the election.

Olojo   described the electoral process that produced the new executive as one which was free and fair.

The former President, Anaroke, while congratulating the new executive advised them to work hard to achieve the objectives of establishing League.

He advised that the new executive should pay attention to the lined-up projects of the association.

Okorocha   in his acceptance speech thanked members for reposing such confidence in him that led to his victory.

He promised to work hard to keep the spirit and vision of the founding members of League.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.