Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Government College Ughelli Old Boys Celebrate School at 75

… Amb Clark, JP Clark, Peter Enahoro, Itse Sagay, Festus Keyamo,
Olisa  Agbakoba,       others get Leading Light Award in humanities

L-R: Sec. Gen of GCUOBA, Mr. Roy Odoko, PG of GCUOBA, Arc. Charles Majoroh, and National Publicity Sec., Mr.  Obed Awowede

Government College Ughelli Old
Boys Association (GCUOBA) will mark the Platinum Anniversary (75 Years) of the
school on its Founder’s Day Reunion and Annual General Meeting (AGM) holding at
the College
  premises on Wednesday, 15th
January 2020 in Ughelli, Delta State.

At a press conference held in
Yaba, Lagos on Thursday, 9th January, 2020, the President General WorldWide of
Government College Ughelli Old Boys Association, Arc. Charles Majoroh, said the
Old Boys were very proud of their heritage.
The products of the school over the
last 75 years include top diplomats, public administrators, corporate titans,
leaders in various professions and academics, but Arc. Majoroh regretted the
quality of teaching and learning at the school in recent years, which he says
the old boys association has taken up as a challenge.
According to him, the neglect of
the school by the government for many years forced the Old Boys to deploy
resources to restore the facilities at the school, adding that virtually all
the student hostels, classrooms, laboratories, library, administrative block
and recreational facilities have been restored and in some cases upgraded.
In furtherance of the restoration
project, the Class of 1970, which will be celebrating its Golden Jubilee
anniversary of admission to GCU, has renovated the School Assembly Hall, one of
the projects to be inaugurated at the Platinum Anniversary Celebrations.
Arc. Majoroh who was flanked by Mr. Roy Odoko, Secretary General of GCUOBA Worldwide; and Mr. Obed Awowede, National
Publicity Secretary of the Association; said the Old Boys Association is
committed to ‘restoring the lost glories of the school to ensure a good place
for current and future students to learn.’
However, he was critical of the
admission process into public schools, which he said has lowered standards and
encouraged examination malpractices.
The Leading Lights recipients are
13 old boys across the generations who have made their mark in the humanities:
B.A. Clark (Class of 1947),

Nigeria’s one-time Permanent Representative to the United Nations and
Chairman of the UN Special
Committee against Apartheid
Professor (Emeritus) John Pepper Clark (Class of 1948), a leading
African literary personality with global recognition who has been described as
the “the most lyrical of Nigerian poets, whose poetry celebrates the physical
landscape of Africa.”  During his time at
Ughelli, he had the reputation of having read every novel in the school
library, of which he was prefect. Impressed, the principal was compelled to buy
him some more books.
Peter Enahoro – also known as Peter Pan (Class of 1948):
Famous for his wit and wry humour, he is perhaps Africa’s best-known
international journalist.
Prince Sam Amuka Pemu – also known as Sad Sam (Class of
1949):  Veteran journalist, publisher and
founder of the Vanguard newspaper.
(Posthumous) Professor Festus Ikhuoria Iyayi (HSC
Class of 1967): He was an extremely versatile academic who wore many caps:
award-winning novelist, outstanding academic and trade union activist.
Professor Obaro Ikime (Class of 1950): A distinguished
academic and an outstanding historian who was visiting professor at the
Departments of History at University of California and Harvard University in
Professor (Emeritus) Egerton E. Uvieghara (Class of 1951):  A former Commissioner at the Nigeria Law
Reform Commission.
Professor Itse Esanjuwa Sagay san.
(Class of 1954) who is currently the Chairman of the Presidential Advisory
Committee against Corruption (PACAC).
Olisa Agbakoba san
(HSC Class of 1973): Founder of the non-governmental organisation in advocacy
and law, Human Rights Law Services, he was named the 2006 ’FRA Williams Legal
Practitioner of the Year.’ An outstanding legal mind.
Albert Akpomudje san
(Class of 1969): A distinguished legal practitioner and life bencher.
Charles Edosomwan san
(Class of 1973): A distinguished legal practitioner.
Festus Keyamo san
(Class of 1981): A distinguished legal practitioner who is currently the
Minister of State for Labour.
well-deserved twelve awardees are honoured to reinforce the Old School value of
rewarding excellence. 
The Platinum Anniversary of GCU provides a great
opportunity for score-keeping and sober reflection. 
According to the Old Boys,
it is vital that “the Old School sustains the tradition of producing great
minds that go on to positively impact the larger society and the world in the
years and decades ahead.”
Government College Ughelli was
founded on 17th January, 1945. 
The Old Boys association’s Constitution
stipulates that the Founder’s Day celebration should be on a Wednesday nearest
to 17th January for administrative convenience.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.