Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Labinjo elected NISA president

 Capt. Dada Labinjo has emerged as the new president of the Nigerian Shipowners Association (NISA) after a keenly-contested election among three contestants.


Labinjo won the election by polling a total of 31 votes from 72 votes cast, to emerge tops from the election which took place on Friday at the Rockview Hotel at Apapa, Lagos.
Engr. Greg Ogbeifun had a total of 23 votes while  Mr. Temisan Omatseye, a former  Director –General
of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency(NIMASA) came third with a total of six votes.
Of the 72 votes cast for the position of the president, 12 were voided due to some irregularities like double thumb-printing.
The position of the General Secretary was won by Mr Tunji Brown who polled a total of 34 votes against Ayorinde Adedoyin’s 25.
This category of votes also suffered a total of 13 voided votes due to double thumb-printing.
Mr Peter Adedayo pooled 37 votes to emerge as assistant secretary, against Mr Vincent Abulu’s 25 votes polled while 10 of the votes cast were void.
The position of the publicity secretary went to Mr Emmanuel Ilori who emerged winner with a total of 43 votes, as   the two other contestants in the category polled 15 and 10 votes respectively.
The position of the welfare officer was won by Mr Adu Gbolahan with 40 votes, while Mr Peter Olorunfemi became the treasurer with a total of 52 votes.
Mrs Oruware Etete, NIMASA’s Director of Cabotage represented the Director-General, and she acted as the returning officer of the election, which was conducted by NIMASA.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.